

OFFICE ADDRESS NATIONAL GOVERNMENT CENTER	TELEPHONE NOS.:	97-60-71 10 78	
E DE LOS SANTOS AVENTE	CABI E	NIAPHIL	
QUEZON CITY PHILIPPINES	TELEX	42802 NIA PM	

**OUR REFERENCE:** 

## MC No. 84, 1990

## MEMORANDUM CIRCULAR

T O : DEPUTY ADMINISTRATOR, ASSISTANT ADMINISTRATORS, DEPARTMENT MANAGERS, REGIONAL IRRIGATION MANA-GERS, OPERATIONS/PROJECT MANAGERS, PROJECT ENGINEERS, IRRIGATION SUPERINTENDENTS, PROVINCIAL IRRIGATION ENGINEERS AND ALL OTHERS CONCERNED.

National Irrigation Administration

SUBJECT : Executive Order No. 429

Quoted hereunder in full is Executive Order No. 429 for your information and guidance:

> "Malacañang Manila

## EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 429

## PROVIDING FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE REGIONS IN MINDANAO, AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

WHEREAS, Article X, Section 15 of the Constitution states, that "There shall be created autonomous regions in Muslim Mindanao and in the Cordilleras consisting of provinces, cities, municipalities and geographical areas sharing common and distinctive historical and cultural heritage, economic and social structures, and other relevant characteristics within the framework of this Constitution and the national sovereignty as well as territorial integrity of the Republic of the Philippines";

WHEREAS, pursuant to the aforesaid mandate, Republic Act No. 6734 entitled, "An Act Providing For An Organic Act For The Autonomous Region In Muslim Mindanao" was signed into law on August 1, 1989;

4

WHEREAS, pursuant to Republic Act No. 6734, a plebiscite was held on November 19, 1989 in the provinces and cities identified in Republic Act No. 6734;

2

WHEREAS, the Commission on Elections, in its Resolution No. 2205 dated November 26, 1989, declared that the Organic Act for the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao has been approved and/or ratified in the Provinces of Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Maguindanao and Lanao del Sur;

WHEREAS, Article XIX, Section 13 of Republic Act No. 6734 states that "The creation of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao shall take effect when approved by a majority of the votes cast by the constituent units provided in paragraph (2) of Sec. 1 of Article II of this Act in a plebiscite which shall be held not earlier than ninety (90) days or later than one hundred twenty (120) days after the approval of this Act: Provided, That only the provinces and cities voting favorably in such plebiscite shall be included in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao. The provinces and cities which in the plebiscite do not vote for inclusion in the Autonomous Region shall remain in the existing administrative regions: Provided, however, That the President may, by administrative determination, merge the existing regions".

WHEREAS, there is an urgent need to reorganize the administrative regions in Mindanao to guarantee the effective delivery of the field services of government agencies taking into consideration the formation of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, CORAZON C. AQUINO, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. REGION IX, to be known as WESTERN MINDANAO, shall be reorganized to include the following provinces and cities:

Provinces

Zamboanga	del	Norte		Misami	is Oc
Zamboanga	del	Sur		Lanao	del
Basilan			·		

ccidental Norte

Cities

Zamboanga	Tangub
Pagadian	Ozamis
Dipolog	Iligan
Dapitan	Marawi
Oroquieta	

The City of Pagadian shall serve as the regional center. The City of Zamboanga shall remain the commercial and industrial center.

- 3 -

SEC. 2. REGION X, to be known as NORTHERN MINDANAO, shall include the following provinces and cities:

Provinces

÷

Agusan	del	Norte
Agusan	del	Sur
Misamis	s Ori	ental

Camiguin Bukidnon Surigao del Norte

Cities

Cagayan de Oro Gingoog Butuan

The City of Cagayan de Oro shall serve as the regional  $\cdot$  center.

SEC. 3. REGION XI, to be known as SOUTHERN MINDANAO, shall include the following provinces and city:

Provinces

Davao	del	Sur	Davao Oriental
Davao	del	Norte	Surigao del Sur

City

Davao City

The City of Davao shall serve as the regional center.

SEC. 4. REGION XII, to be known as CENTRAL MINDANAO, shall include the following provinces and cities:

Provinces

Sultan Kudarat Cotabato South Cotabato

Cities

Cotabato General Santos

The Municipality of Koronadal (Marbel) in South Cotabato shall serve as the regional center. SEC. 5. The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) as per the outcome of the November 19, 1989 plebiscite shall be composed of the following provinces:

Provinces

Sulu Tawi-Tawi Maguindanao Lanao del Sur . . . . -

The City of Cotabato shall serve as the provisional capital until such time as the Regional Assembly shall fix by law the permanent seat of government for the ARMM in accordance with Republic Act No. 6734.

SEC. 6. The transfer of the regional centers in the reorganized Regions IX and XII shall be effected within eighteen (18) months from the effectivity of this Executive Order subject to the availability of funds for the purpose.

SEC. 7. The following committees shall supervise the following tasks to be completed by 31 December 1990.

(1) For Region XII

Chairman: Mr. Jesus V. Ayala

Members: Cabinet Officer for Regional Development for Region XI Cabinet Officer for Regional Development for Region XII Department of Local Government National Economic and Development Authority Secretariat Department of Budget and Management Presidential Management Staff

This Committee shall supervise the transfer of South Cotabato from Region XI to Region XII, and the organization of the Regional Development Council in the newly reorganized administrative region of Region X.

(1) For Region IX

Chairman: Sec. Fidel V. Ramos

Members : Cabinet Officer for Regional development for Region X Cabinet Officer for Regional Development for Region XII Chairman of the Regional Development Council for Region X Department of Local Government

5 -

National Economic and Development Authopity Secretariat Department of Budget and Management Presidential Management Staff

This Committee shall supervise the transfer of Lando del Norte and Misamis Occidental from Regions XII and X, respectively, to Region IX, as well as the cities of Iligan and Marawi from Region XII to Region IX, and the reorganization of the Regional Development Council in the newly reorganized administrative region of Region IX.

SEC. 8. Region X and XI shall likewise organize their respective Regional Development Councils as a result of the transfer of some provinces and/or cities to other regions.

SEC. 9. The Committees may call upon any government agency for assistance, and may designate any office to serve as its secretariat.

SEC. 10. All issuances, ordinances, rules and regulations or parts thereof, which are dinconsistent with Executive Order are hereby repealed or modified accordingly.

SEC. 11. This Executive Order shall take effect immediately.

DONE in the City of Manila, this 12th day of October, in the year of our Lord, nineteen hundred and ninety.

(SGD.) CORAZON C. AQUINO

By the President:

(SGD.) CATALINO MACARAIG, JR. Executive Secretary"

OSARIO. JOSE B. DET: Adminis ator

December 4, 1990